Started 2015 with a bang….or at the very least a horse falling on you.

Like the title says…a horse fell on me….and I didn’t even have the pleasure of riding it. I was standing around minding my own business and in a fluke a lovely stupid horse got its foot stuck in the fence and clotheslined himself and his shoulders hit my right leg from the side. Even before that though I was admittedly riding a lot less simply because I don’t have the time at the moment…three more months and then my schedule and commitment load drops dramatically.
And, not to sound even more depressing I have officially not been leasing Titan for the past 4 months….I couldn’t validate leasing him when I was going out to ride 3-4 times a month maximum. However, he has grown dependent on our rides and becomes downright surly without them…so I have been asked to stop in and ride as much as possible for free just to keep him rideable, yay for grumpy horses! Now just have to wait for my knee to heal up!

In the meantime I have been doing a lot with my newest pup Finn, he is 7 months old now…really hard for me to believe how fast that time has flown by. We are working on various dog sports and have done some dog conformation shows which have been very interesting, some of those folks are downright odd. We have not done so hot….something seems to go wrong and its mostly my fault since I am new to everything dog show related. Last show we got last every time…and one time I accidentally pulled off his collar in the ring….doh! Oh well, its a learning process and at some point I will get my act together. Finn also needs some more training…he gets very excited and distracted in the ring….but no matter what happens or what place we get I always play with him before we exit the judging ring and tell him how good he did 🙂

Well, that is basically what I have been up to, I plan to go out and try to get a ride in at the end of February if my knee is feeling up to it by then. Loved catching up with you all, wish Finn and I luck on the 15th and 16th, it will be our second show!

20150201_123353-1

This is Finn last weekend at 7 months old.

20150201_131115

This is the very last photo I showed of Finn I think? This was about 6 weeks old.

This is the very last photo I showed of Finn I think? This was about 6 weeks old.

Leave a Reply

Collecting Thoroughbreds

The training journal of a re-rider learning dressage

Travellers

Some kind of journey.

Japanese cookbook - Japanese recipes from Mari's Tokyo Kitchen

Japanese recipes from Cooking with Mari, a Japanese cooking class in Tokyo for foreigners

Blue Ridge Pony

Riding adventures from the Blue Ridge Valley

Dating With Cowgirls and Cowboys

date with cowgirls and cowboys

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

A Day In The Life Of Me (Well Us)

My On-Line Diary Of Family, Horses, Music, Books, Photography And Keeping Fit

A Gift Horse

An Equestrian's Blog

readingrider

Welcome to my blog. Here you will find reviews of books that I have read.

Equestrian Grad Student

Because horses never stop teaching.

The Rodney Diaries

the story of a market pony

Equestrianism

All things equine - feel free to ask questions

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Gotta Love Foxhunting

Tales from a Pony Club foxhunter from the West.

Thought Scratchings

the bit your brain can't itch, served in a packet of alternative pig shit.

The Katie Chronicles

Miniature horse madness

Critters and Chaos

and other farm related mishaps

Alchemy Eventing

Alchemy: any process of transmuting a common substance, usually of little value, into a substance of great value...

The Embiggens Project

Growing dendrites and building better brains.

